Janet Jackson to Release ‘The Velvet Rope: Deluxe Edition’ to Celebrate 25th Anniversary

Janet Jackson to Release ‘The Velvet Rope: Deluxe Edition’ to Celebrate 25th Anniversary


Music icon Janet Jackson will celebrate the 25th anniversary of her sixth album, The Velvet Rope, with a special deluxe edition. It will release this Friday, Oct. 7, the anniversary date.

The Velvet Rope: Deluxe will feature ten bonus tracks, including Teddy Riley‘s TNT Remix of “I Get Lonely” featuring Blackstreet, the J. Dilla (Ummah Jay Dee) remix of “Got ‘Til It’s Gone” and Timbaland and Missy Elliott‘s remix of “Go Deep.” 

Additionally, it will include club mixes of tracks by David Morales & Frankie Knuckles, Masters at Work, Tony Moran, Jason Nevins and Tony Humphries.

That’s not all. Official videos from that era will be available in HD for the first time on YouTube, including “Go Deep,” “I Get Lonely,” “You,” “Got ‘Til It’s Gone” and “Together Again [Deeper Remix].”

Jackson released The Velvet Rope on Oct. 7, 1997. It debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart. The album spawned hit singles such as the Billboard Hot 100 chart-topper “Together Again” and “I Get Lonely,” which peaked at No. 3 on the same chart.

“Got ‘Til It’s Gone” wasn’t a commercially released single but it still generated much success. It won Best Short Form Music Video at the 40th Grammy Awards.

Janet Jackson The Velvet Rope: Deluxe Edition Tracklist

Component 1:
1. Interlude -Twisted Elegance
2. Velvet Rope [feat. Vanessa-Mae]
3. You
4. Got ‘Til It’s Gone [feat. Q-Tip & Joni Mitchell]
5. Interlude – Speaker Phone
6. My Need
7. Interlude – Fasten Your Seatbelts
8. Go Deep
9. Free Xone
10. Interlude – Memory
11. Together Again
12. Interlude – Online
13. Empty
14. Interlude – Full
15. What About
16. Every Time
17. Tonight’s The Night
18. I Get Lonely
19. Rope Burn
20. Anything
21. Interlude – Sad
22. Special
23. Can’t Be Stopped
24. Accept Me [Bonus Track] *
25. God’s Stepchild [Bonus Track] *

Component 2:
1. I Get Lonely (TNT Remix Edit) with BLACKstreet *
2. Got ‘Til It’s Gone (Ummah Jay Dee’s Revenge Mix) *
3. Go Deep (Timbaland/Missy Remix) featuring Missy “Misdemeanor” Elliott *
4. Together Again (Jimmy Jam Deeper Mix) *
5. Every Time (Jam & Lewis Disco Mix)
6. I Get Lonely (Jam & Lewis Feel My Bass Mix) *
7. Got ‘Til It’s Gone (David Morales & Frankie Knuckles Def Club Mix) *
8. Together Again (Tony Moran 12″ Club Mix) *
9. Go Deep (Masters at Work Thunder Mix) *
10. Together Again (Tony Humphries Club Mix Edit)
11. I Get Lonely (Jason vs. Janet The Club Remix)
12. Go Deep (Masters At Work Vocal Deep Disco Dub)
13. Got ‘Til It’s Gone (Armand Van Helden Bonus Beats)
* = new to streaming

Pre-order/pre-save The Velvet Rope: Deluxe Edition here.