Jon Hopkins Announces New Album 'Singularity'

Jon Hopkins Announces New Album 'Singularity'


Jon Hopkins Announces New Album 'Singularity'

Following some recent teasing, Jon Hopkins has announced his new album. Called Singularity, the upcoming record is due May 4 Domino.

The album marks the first from the UK producer since 2013’s Immunity. And to give us a taste what’s in store, he’s shared the new album track “Emerald Rush.”

You can hear the thudding track below a new animated video, directed by Robert Hunter and Elliot Dear.

A press release describes the new album like this:

Singularity begins and ends on the same note: a universe beginning, expanding, and contracting towards the same infinitesimal point. Where Immunity charted the dark alternative reality an epic night out, Singularity explores the dissonance between dystopian urbanity and the green forest. It is a journey that returns to where it began — from the opening note foreboding to the final sound acceptance.

Shaped by Hopkins’ experiences with meditation and trance states, the album flows seamlessly from rugged techno to transcendent choral music, from solo acoustic piano to psychedelic ambient. Its epic musical palette is visceral and emotionally honest: with a destructive opener full industrial electronics and sonic claustrophobia and a redemptive, pure end on solo piano.

Singularity explores the connectivity the mind, sonics and the natural world as it reflects the different psychological states Hopkins experienced while writing and recording. It is a transformative trip defiance from his initial sense frustration at the state the contemporary world to the ultimate conclusion that a true sense peace and belonging can only come from nature.

Singularity is intended to be listened to in one sitting, as a complete body work.

That’s the new album’s cover art above, while the tracklist can be found below.


1. Singularity
2. Emerald Rush
3. Neon Pattern Drum
4. Everything Connected
5. Feel First Life
6. C O S M
7. Echo Dissolve
8. Luminous Beings
9. Recovery