Jennifer Castle Returns with 'Angels of Death,' Shares "Crying Shame"

Jennifer Castle Returns with 'Angels of Death,' Shares "Crying Shame"


Jennifer Castle Returns with 'Angels  Death,' Shares "Crying Shame"

Nearly four years removed from her 2014 LP Pink City, Jennifer Castle has lifted the curtain on a follow-up effort.

Titled Angels Death, the record will arrive May 18 through Idée Fixe/Paradise Bachelors. Running 10 tracks in length, Castle’s third album is said to be “a sublime meditation on mortality and memory, ghosts and grief… in the form mystic-minimalist country-soul torch songs about writing, time travel, and spectral visitations. 

Castle wrote and recorded Angels Death in a 19th century church near the shores Lake Eerie. The album was produced by Jeff Murrich, with lead guitarist Paul Mortimer, acoustic guitarist David Clarke, pianist/organist Jonathan Adjemian, bassist Mike Smith, backing vocalists Victoria Cheong and Isla Craig, and drummer Robbie Gordon joining Castle on the LP. 

Castle expanded on the record’s themes as follows:

The fictional concept death rears its head in so many my songs, always on the periphery, or as a side note, or a reminder, a punchline or the bottom line, always sniffing around like a death dog. For once I wanted to try to put it in my center vision. In order to talk about death, I armed myself with the only antidote I know: writing. Is this a record about death or a record about writing? Hard to tell in the end. I began to think poetry as time travel. I tried to write messages to the future.

Read through the tracklisting for Angels Death to hear “Crying Shame” in the player below.

Angels Death:

1. Tomorrow’s Mourning
2. Crying Shame
3. Texas
4. Angels Death
5. ‘We Always Change’ Reprise Pt. 1
6. Rose Waterfalls
7. Grim Reaper
8. Stars Milk
9. Tonight the Evening
10. ‘We Always Change’ Reprise Pt. 2