Dinner Party Returns With New Song ‘Insane’ Featuring Ant Clemons

Dinner Party Returns With New Song ‘Insane’ Featuring Ant Clemons


Dinner Party is back. The Grammy-nominated supergroup, composed of Robert Glasper, Kamasi Washington, Terrace Martin and 9th Wonder, has enlisted Ant Clemons for their new single “Insane.” 

Sounwave (Taylor Swift, Thundercat) and Martin produced the track, which samples Mtume’s 1983 smash “Juicy Fruit.”

On the track, Clemons puts a lover behind the wheel of his ragging hormones, drifting in between lanes of flirtations for a wild time.

“The way you walk is so insane / You’ve been walking on my brain / So I let you drive / Drive me insane,” Clemons sings in a computerized vocal over the tingling production.

Juppi Juppsen directed and animated a supporting visual for “Insane,” which can be viewed below.

“Insane” is Dinner Party’s first collaborative single in nearly three years and arrives ahead of their debut Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival set in April.

Their previous effort, Dinner Party: Dessert, a star-studded version of their self-titled 2020 debut EP, earned a Best Progressive R&B Album nomination at the 64th Grammy Awards in 2022.

Since then, Glasper has released the third installment of Black Radio. It won Best R&B Album at the 65th Grammy Awards in February.

[embedded content]

Glasper will perform on night one of Mary J. Blige’s Strength of a Woman Festival and Summit in May. Additionally, Glasper is returning for the second annual Blue Note Jazz Festival Napa Valley later this summer. 

As for Martin, his last project, 2021’s DRONES, was nominated for Best Progressive R&B Album this year. The award ultimately went to Steve Lacy’s Gemini Rights.

DRONES included appearances by Arin Ray, Leon Bridges, D Smoke, James Fauntleroy, Kim Burrell and more.

Clemons, who co-wrote on 2022 albums by Mary J. Blige and Kehlani, has yet to release a new project since last year’s 4Play. He also appeared on Glasper’s Black Radio III. 

Listen to Dinner Party’s new song “Insane” featuring Ant Clemons below. 

[embedded content]