Companion Soundtrack for Billie Holiday Documentary ‘BILLIE’ Announced

Companion Soundtrack for Billie Holiday Documentary ‘BILLIE’ Announced


When Billie Holiday’s documentary BILLIE premieres on November 13, it won’t be the only memorabilia attached to the famed jazz vocalist to be released that day. The official soundtrack for the film has been announced and will be issued on the film’s release date.

The 13-track album, which includes standards and rarities, was taken from previously-released projects, as well as intimate live performances. One of them, “Don’t Explain,” was taken from a setlist at Carnegie Hall. The project will also include the classics “Now or Never” and “Strange Fruit” and two instrumental pieces from BILLIE. 

As previously reported, the James Erskine-directed documentary is a collection of over 200 hours of unheard conversations that were conducted by late 1960s journalist Linda Lipnack Kuehl in an attempt to write the biography of Holiday. The book was never published because of the death of Kuehl. 

BILLE also comprises restored and colorized performances by the singer for the first time. Watch the trailer here. 

The tracklisting for BILLIE: The Official Soundtrack: 

1. Now or Never
2. God Bless the Child
3. Hoppin’ Around
4. Blues are Brewin’
5. Funeral in New Orleans
6. Fine and Mellow
7. Strange Fruit
8. Just One More Chance
9. My Man
10. I Only Have Eyes For You
11. I’ll Never Smile Again
12. Don’t Explain
13. I Loves You, Porgy

Pre-order the soundtrack for BILLIE here.